Shakespeare

Texas Shakespeare Festival: Much Ado About Nothing

shakespeare festival - much ado

This weekend, I’m at the Texas Shakespeare Festival.  They’re performing two plays by Shakespeare: Richard III, which I’m going to see tonight, and Much Ado About Nothing, which I saw last night. It was incredible!

I’ve read 13 of Shakespeare’s plays now (having finished Richard III this week), and I’ve seen movie versions of about half of those, but there’s something very special about seeing Shakespeare performed live. If a movie brings the script to life, a play transports you there as if it were happening all around you. I still stand by my preference to read the plays before I see them, but in the end, seeing them performed live is the best way to get past the antiquated language and let them take your breath away.

This production of Much Ado About Nothing was perfect in almost every way. The set looked like something out of a fairy tale, the actors’ performances were excellent, the chemistry between Beatrice and Benedick was just right, and the audience could never stop laughing at the characters’ antics. The later part of the play, where Hero is accused of being unfaithful, was given just the right amount of drama and seriousness, while still adding in enough humor to make the happy ending feel realistic.

When I first read Much Ado About Nothing, and even when I watched the movie, it wasn’t one of my favorites. I liked it, but I didn’t love it. Well, I loved it last night. Perhaps not quite as much as Twelfth Night, my favorite Shakespearean comedy, but now that I’ve seen just how funny, heartwarming, and exhilarating Much Ado can be, I think it will always have a special place in my heart.

Leave a Reply

