Middle-Grade · teaching literature

Teaching Tuck Everlasting

One of my favorite things about teaching is getting kids excited about reading. I’ll never forget my own eighth and ninth grade English teachers, who I credit with turning my love of reading into a love of literary analysis, much less the elementary school teachers who nurtured that love of reading in the first place. So it’s with great pleasure that I’ve taken over Novel Studies this quarter for a teacher who’s out on maternity leave. I meet with the 4th, 5th, and 6th graders one afternoon a week, for about half an hour, to lead a discussion on a book they’re all reading. I’m starting a new book – Tuck Everlasting – with fifth grade next week, and I’m already working on fun projects to do with them.

One thing I’ve come up with is this:

tuck-everlasting-wheel

The book’s prologue uses the metaphor of a wheel, with Treegap Woods as the hub, uniting seemingly unrelated people and events. We’ll talk about what the author means by that in class and add a little more to the wheel each week based on what they’ve read, connecting the characters to the setting and to each other. I’m hoping this will help the kids keep track of all the unexpected connections and peak their curiosity about the novel’s mysteries.

Leave a Reply

