Classics · Shakespeare

Troilus and Cressida, Act I

My first impressions based on what I’ve read so far:

I like it … but I understand why it’s met with mixed reactions. It’s a difficult play, not entirely comedy or tragedy. Troilus and Cressida have yet to interact, although they do talk about each other quite a bit, and at least so far, it seems like he’s way more in love with her than she is in love with him. The Trojan War setting is not quite the same as the one from The Iliad, in the same way a movie might have a totally different feel from the book it’s based on. At the same time, though, it assumes fairly detailed knowledge of the mythology surrounding the Trojan War, which most people today don’t have. I don’t love it the way I love The Tempest and King Lear, but so far it’s enjoyable.

Looking forward, I’m interested to see how the relationship between the two title characters will build up and how the two main plots – the Trojan lovers and the war itself – will interact.

Leave a Reply

